Tags

, , , , , ,

The Art’e Gallery at the East River Community, Helvellyn Region, is pleased to present “I Heard a Fly Buzz”, a new installation piece by Penumbra Carter.

The installation will be up from June 23. 2010 to September 23, 2010. SLURL to the Art’e Gallery

I_heard_a_fly_buzzing_kiosk_poster_1

We will celebrate this art installation on Saturday, July 24th, where you can meet Penumbra and enjoy some very special Second Life performance art.The Wearers, Marmaduke and Kikas, will start the show at 4 PM at the gallery roof.

 

Penumbra Carter is an installation artist and a machinima maker in Second Life. She has exhibited work at BiW (renamed NiW) at Push region and  has done several large collaborative pieces with Dekka Raymaker. They include “There’s No Bible in Here” at Soup Magoo region. Her first installation was at Arthole, titled “The Unkempt Hair of the Dead”. In Penumbra’s words… ” I miss Arthole”.

Installation Notes


I Heard a Fly Buzz
by Penumbra Carter

This art installation is inspired by an Emily Dickinson’s poem entitled “I Heard a Fly Buzz When I Died”. The irony is being able to write about what you experience after you die. Flies are symbols of the fleeting of life. I have used eggs as the idea that they contain the goo of life and poppies to suggest forever. The rest is how I combine these thoughts in my head and realize them here in Second Life.

You can see and learn more about Penumbra at:
Penumbra Carter on YouTube
Penumbra Carter on Vimeo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

